Bed Rest

Those two words are now my closest friend and greatest enemy! While we are relieved that we have some more time to let our son develop in nature’s truest incubator, It has been a big bummer that I will be spending that time at the hospital rather than at home with my darling puppy, Luca. Not to mention the taken-for-granted comforts of home like your own food and shower. But before I start complaining too much, let me just say that this is by far the best place I could possibly be immobile for an indefinite period of time.

We were moved this morning from a room in the Labor & Delivery wing to a smaller room with a much comfier bed meant for staying longer term in. I believe this room is in the antepartum area of the hospital. Tempur Pedic mattresses really are the stuff! And I’ve got a decent TV set-up with a DVD player that I can use when someone is around to work the buttons. A couch potatoes dream come true? Yes – but I’m not really one of them. So I’ll just have to do my best to find productive things to occupy my time while I take care of my sole responsibility.

Still hooked up to an IV for now but the word from the doctor is that I should be switching to an oral medication tomorrow which will be grand. Much easier to type, hold a book, and maybe even work on a sewing project. A few people have suggested Netflix shows/movies and/or books for me to read, and any more suggestions of things to do while I’m here would be fabulous! Levi is bringing a chessboard and some Carcassonne to play later on, so I’m looking forward to that as well. Anyone want to come and play cards?

Well it looks like my lunch has arrived so I’ll sign off for now. Thanks for reading the updates! Much love.

Leave a Reply

