DIY Chai

Snuggling up in my comfies on a Thursday morning, cuddling with my baby, and reading a book or watching a show. What’s missing? Why, it’s my beloved chai latte. If you’re like me, you believe that there’s no greater warm cup of anything than a perfectly sweet and spicy chai tea. And if you’re my twin, you believe that it’s awesome any time of day all year round, but nothing beats a late autumn morning. Lately though, I’ve been lazy and buying a mix from Target or TJ’s. That gets pricey after a while when you’re drinking 2-3 cups a day. I finally gave that up when I realized how easy it was the last time I made my own chai mix, so I’ve done it again.

chai

All you really need is non-fat milk powder, instant tea, some sugar, and a few spices. You can experiment with the quantities of each so suit your own tastes, but here’s my recipe as a guide:

  • 1 cup non-fat powdered milk
  • 1 cup powdered coffee creamer, non-dairy
  • 1 cup vanilla-flavored powdered coffee creamer, non-dairy
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups instant tea, unsweetened
  • 2 tsp ginger
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice OR 1 tsp cloves + 1 tsp cardamom

Store your mix in an airtight container. To mix: Add 3 tbsp of the mix to 8 oz of hot water ( the size of a standard coffee mug).

If you have a food processor, you’ll get better results by blending the smallest ingredients first then blending the rest into that mix. If like me, a food processor is on your Christmas list, no worries. You’ll just have to stir up the mix before you use it to account for settling.

If you prefer it to be sweeter, cut back on the spices or add 2 cups vanilla creamer rather than 1 cup of plain and 1 cup of vanilla. And for the fall, double up on the pumpkin pie spice. Happy mixing!

IMG_20131208_211003

Leave a Reply

