You say tomato, I say… let’s grow some!

It’s mid-April and Spring has officially sprung here. We’re done with the overnight frosts, which means it’s time to start my garden. Finally. Guys, this is a big deal for me. I’ve been pining for my own garden ever since I moved away from home less than a month after turning 18. If you can believe it, this is the first year since I left home that I won’t be moving during gardening season. Seriously! It was such a relief to figuratively plant some roots when we bought this house, and now I’m getting literal with it. It feels great. This blog will serve as my garden journal for the season, and if I can inspire a few of you to get dirty in the yard, that’s awesome!

I’ll probably focus more on container plants this year since it’s more in my comfort zone than a larger garden bed. I might get around to a raised bed next month, but to kick of the season I’m starting with a couple of tomato plants.

Snapchat--1418290242318216586

A great alternative to planting tomatoes in the ground is to plant them in containers. They do well with their own space, and it’s easier to control them this way. So, I gathered my supplies and got to work. This common design uses two 5 gallon buckets per plant. The bucket on the bottom is lined with pea gravel to create a water reservoir for the plants. Tomatoes need to be watered every day as they don’t do well when dried out, so the pebbles serve as a grace period in case you’re unable to water them. Which sounds pretty likely considering our busy schedules.

Snapchat--4950315910962367932

20150416_175502

As you can see, I decided to go with a standard hybrid tomato for general use as well as Sun Golds which are excellent for snacking on by themselves. Here they are in one of the sunniest spots in our yard with their starter cages. I can’t wait to see how they turn out!

20150416_175947-1

One thought on “You say tomato, I say… let’s grow some!

Leave a Reply

